Celebrate… Homemade

celebrate link up

ice cream coneToday I celebrated eating an ice cream cone outside as I took a stroll in the cool crisp air of autumn one last time before winter.

Even though there are more pleasant days to come before it turns frosty outside, it is not uncommon for the first snow to come in October.  And the cafeteria was serving Chocolate Peanut Butter Chunk today so I simply could not resist.  Then I got to thinking beyond ice cream.

pumpkin pie

 

 

Thoughts of pumpkin pie and spiced cider.  Glazed pork tenderloin and stuffing.  Red Velvet Chocolate Cake.  There is nothing better than the pleasant aroma of something homemade wafting through the kitchen.

As summer neared its end in August, the days could still be scorchers.  Even with the windows open at night and the fan on high, my apartment was stifling hot.  My legs stuck to the couch from sweat.  It was awful.  The last thing I wanted to do was heat up the oven.  The most I used the stove this last summer was grilled cheese and soup, partly because I only cook for myself, but still you get the idea.

fall mmmm

Now the nights are much cooler, and I am getting very antsy to start cooking again.  I may just have to start with a heart-warming batch of Bacon Cheddar Potato Soup or a comfort food stand-by, Tater Tot Casserole.  But whatever I decide, it will be made with love.


 

I share with you a book I thought might be in the spirit of this celebration.  When I think of homemade, I think of mothers in the traditional sense anyway.  I realize that not every mother cherishes spending time in the kitchen, especially if you have nine mouths to feed (if you include your own!)

seven-silly-eaters-coverThe Seven Silly Eaters by Mary Ann Hoberman and illustrated by Marla Frazee is a fun story told with rhyming stanzas of a mother and her family of disturbingly picky eaters!  The illustrations are so precious and detailed.  The look on the poor mother’s face is priceless as she attempts to make everyone happy.  In the end, on her birthday no doubt, the children attempt to cook for their mom in appreciation of all she does, and the outcome is hilarious!

3 thoughts on “Celebrate… Homemade

  1. What a great thing to celebrate about! Sometime all it takes to change your frame of mind about things is to focus on the little positives. I have gotten into using my crockpot lately. You get the cooking out of the way in the morning and then get to enjoy the smells as you walk in the door after a long day. Absolutely perfect!

    Like

Leave a Reply

