Reading Challenge

Over the last several weeks, I have read many books that appeal to me.  I read Caldecott winners.  I read graphic novels.  I read an historical account of an eighteenth century yellow fever outbreak in Philadelphia.  I read books for young children and books for sixth graders.  One thing they all have in common is that they cover a wide variety of subjects and authors.

books-of-4-300px

I started thinking about where I want my reading to take me and I decided to read as many books as I can from The Top 100 Children’s Novels Poll (#1 – 100) posted on April 13, 2010 by Elizabeth Bird.  These books are suitable for kids age 9 – 12 with some of them being ranked for third to fifth grade and others sixth to eighth grade.  In other words, there is a nice mixture for each end of the spectrum.

I used to struggle with wanting to read and making time to read.  Because of that, I wanted to be as realistic as possible about this list before I dug into it.  I needed to make sure there was a variety of genres and, more importantly, at least a few science fiction titles.  Becoming bored with a book leads to getting distracted which leads to putting the book down and never picking it up again.

reading children-300px
As I browsed the list, I noticed some very familiar titles and some I have never heard of.  With everything from Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery to The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien, this list is diverse enough that I shouldn’t have a problem finding something exciting to read.

 
3D-Glasses-3-by-Merlin2525-300px Another  initial reaction I had to this list was my surprise at the number of books that I only recognize because they were made into movies.  As a result, I plan to read some of those novels and truly discover the treasure that lies inside.  Ordinarily I would skip the book because of fear that it would be too predictable.

 

My first selection will be The Tale of Despereaux: Being the Story of a Mouse, a Princess, Some Soup, and a Spool of Thread by Kate DiCamillo and illustrated by Timothy Basil Ering.  It sounds like an adventure so I am really looking forward to this one.

despereaux

2 thoughts on “Reading Challenge

Leave a Reply

