Top Ten Tuesday – Top 10 Book to Movie Adaptations I Still Need to Watch

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.  This week’s theme is Top Ten Book To Movie Adaptations I’m Looking Forward To or Ten Book To Movie Adaptations I Still Need To Watch.

the phantom tollbooth  the giver movie   bridge to terabithia movie  
 The Phantom Tollbooth by Norton Juster was first published in 1961 and made into a movie in 1970.  I am currently reading the book and am surprised that they were able to make a movie out of abstract principles like mathematics and the use of words in language.  I am looking forward to watching it.

The Giver by Lois Lowry, first published in 1993 and the winner of the 1994 Newbery Medal, was made into a movie in 2014.  Although it only received a rating of 2 tomatoes (94 negative reviews out of 146) on  Rotten Tomatoes, I am anxious to see the movie.  With Jeff Bridges playing the Giver, who wouldn’t want to see it?

Bridge to Terabithia by Katherine Paterson and Donna Diamond, first published in 1977 and winner of the 1978 Newbery Medal, became a movie in 2007.  At first I refused to watch the movie because of the attention it gives to the fantasy aspect.  Although I fear it will not portray the emotional impact of the book, I am changing my mind because I am intrigued that Robert Patrick is playing Jack Aarons, Jess’s father.

despereaux movie  holes movie  the seeker movie  lightning thief

The Tale of Despereaux by Kate DiCamillo, first published in 2003 and the winner of the 2004 Newbery Medal, became a movie in 2008.  Although I am not thrilled about seeing another cartoon movie, I loved the book and hope the movie will not be a disappointment.

Holes by Louis Sachar, first published in 1998 and winner of the 1999 Newbery Medal, became a movie in 2003.  Although I saw the movie and loved it, I have not read the book.  Once I finish the book, it will be fun to see the movie again and critique the differences.

The Dark Is Rising by Susan Cooper, first published in 1973 and a 1974 Newbery Honor Book, became a movie titled The Seeker in 2007.  I have a different motivation to see this one.  Because it received only one tomato (79 negative reviews out of 92) on Rotten Tomatoes, I am curious to see where the movie makers went wrong.

Percy Jackson & The Olympians Book One – The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan, first published in 2005, became a movie in 2010.  I still need to read the book and see the movie.

charlottes web movie   hobbit movie 2012  poseidon adventure movie

Charlotte’s Web by E. B. White and illustrated by Garth Williams, first published in 1952 and a 1953 Newbery Honor Book, became a movie in 2006.  This version stars Dakota Fanning.

The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien, first published in 1937, was made into a movie in 2012 called The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey.  There are so many movies out there based on the Tolkien series that I am hoping this is based on the first book, The Hobbit.

The Poseidon Adventure by Paul Gallico, first published in 1969, was made into a movie in 1972.  I hope to catch this one on TCM.

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Top 10 Book to Movie Adaptations I Still Need to Watch

  1. A couple of these books I didn’t even know were movies, tells you how much I pay attention to the theater. I watched Holes many times and have read some of the book but not all. I agree it would be interesting to watch the movie again after you read the book just to see if there is any differences in either of them. Great post!

    Like

  2. I thought the film Holes followed the book fairly well. It had been the 6th grade novel study for many years here where I work.
    Here is my (biased) warning about Percy Jackson. Don’t watch the movie. I HATED it. HATE. IT. I love the books and Rick Riordan is one of my favorite authors because of this series. However, the movie was so ridiculously horrible that I wanted to scream.
    I wonder if there would be a difference if someone saw the film first and then read the book. Or, would it be a better adaptation for someone who does not have the background in mythology that I have? I’ll be interested to read your review either way!

    Like

    • What an interesting perspective you have. Thank you, I will save my money on the rental. I don’t remember much about mythology so maybe I would feel differently than you did, but I doubt it. If a movie is that ridiculously horrible, as you say, then I better skip it.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. This is a neat blogging meme. I rarely get to the movies, but there are a few I want to see based on books. Love the Hunger Games movies, for example, but they are nothing like the books. I’m curious to hear what you’ll think of some of these movies once you see them.

    Like

  4. I would love to see the Phantom Tollbooth. I love that story so much and I had no idea that they made it into a movie. I agree with Jen, that Holes was fairly well done. It’s hard to show the pure mystery and excitement of the book, but it is still great.

    Like

  5. My dad is a huge Lord of the Rings fan but absolutely HATED The Hobbit- apparently the graphics and acting were terrible. But that’s just his opinion. The Giver movie is REALLY good- I recommend it for sure! I don’t know why it got such terrible reviews!

    Like

Leave a Reply

